Jump to content

Review centre categories


Online friends

None of your friends are currently online

Tell a friend



103 active user(s)(in the past 30 minutes)

99 guests, 0 anonymous users
Google, Bing, Magpie, samd, MJ12bot, Baidu, Jbeans, HairyMonster, west-is-best

* * * * *

Review: Kindle good for caravanners



Why take a stack of books on holiday with you when you take a kindle. Got mine for Christmas so still getting used to it but so far I have found it to be excellent. Because of the screen and the layout you soon forget you aren't reading a real book, particularly if the book is a good one.

Mine as free internet access but you can connect to your own wireless sysem for downloading faster or download straight to your computer if you haven't got one equiped with internet access.

There a thousands of books to choose from and many are free or very cheap, you can also read newspapers and magazines online as well as browse the web if you want.

Make: Kindle

Model: 3G

Year: 25 Dec 2010

New or Used: New

Where purchased: Amazon

Overall satisfaction: Very satisfied

Reliability: Good

After sales: Not applicable

Reliability: Good
Kindle 3G


0 user(s) are online (in the past 30 minutes)

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



91 Comments

Photo
west-is-best
Jan 02 2011 08:32 PM
Heidi has the 3G Kindle - she's polished off 4 books in about 2 weeks.

It's hard to believe how "book like" the text looks and it seems easy on the eyes to read.

She has bought 15 books so far, ave. prices from £1 to £4 each!!!!

Highly recommended.
Photo
olderbutnotwiser
Jan 02 2011 08:47 PM
So far I've got well over 80 books on my Kindle - of which I've read about 10.

Apart from one at £12.99 that I bought Gail at Christmas I haven't paid more than about £4 for one and the majority have been free, or less than £1.

I've read far more over the last few weeks than I have for years - the Kindle makes it so easy.

I can heartily recommend the Kindle - or at least the idea of an ebook reader, having not used any of the other makes available I don't know how they compare.
Photo
steelerannie
Jan 02 2011 09:11 PM
We bought each other one for Christmas. We go on cruises quite often and found that with the luggage restrictions, we need clothes more than books!! We bought ours in October and have been downloading since then. So far I've got 190 books!!! Most were free or less than £1.00

Highly recommend the Kindle!!
Amazon are doing a 12 days of christmas with Kindle books for £1, worth a look. The Lost Daughter by Diane Chamberlain is a great book.
Photo
west-is-best
Jan 03 2011 12:34 PM
Britain's love affair with the Kindle confirmed: It was the best-selling gadget this year


http://www.dailymail...oduct-2010.html
Photo
Keith Raynes
Jan 03 2011 02:12 PM
Amazon offered me 25 free books for my Kindle when I registered it. Also got 740 books on a CD for a fiver from e-bay. Includes all of Terry Pratchett's stuff, Ian Fleming's Bonds and all of the Hitchhikers Guides!

Anyone tried to turn the right-hand top corner of their Kindle yet instead of pressing the next page button? Just shows how "book like" it really is!

Cheers

Keith
Yep, Several times, I've had mine for about 2 months now, i am impressed, downloaded and read 25 books up to now, going to download a few more for our cruise in a couple of weeks time, i suppose if i run out i'll be able to download more as we go along.
We've just been away with friends one of whom had a kindle, she was delighted when she found she could work on a wireless connection from my 3 mi-fi dongle. I'm quite sure the Kindle will become a permanent fixture in their caravan. We did sort of side by side test of the Kindle vs. The iPad, Kindle's screen has excellent resolution.
Mine would be on my list of grab as running out of fire, Before clothes LOL, Brilliant bit of kit. There are loads of sites for free book, (proj guttenburg ??) for one but i cant really be bothered, In fact i love just sittting at the computer now and again having a good browse on kindle Amazon, And either send to mine or send to Mrs Fish,Or use the wish list thats brilliant and very usefull if away to have a few ready so to speak. I never really buy expensive ones anyway, I VERY OFTEN turn it over for next page, Or drop it as i nod off, The genuine case helps this but it is quite expensive.
Photo
olderbutnotwiser
Jan 03 2011 05:30 PM

Anyone tried to turn the right-hand top corner of their Kindle yet instead of pressing the next page button? Just shows how "book like" it really is!


Yep - I do that - and look at the cover to remind myself what book it is too!:jump:
Can you please tell me if the 'Kindle' has a back light? Linda likes to read in bed and has the light on, where as I try to go straight to sleep and like it pitch back.

A kindle sounds as if it will do the job.

Cheers
nope but you can get a cover with a light in it :thumbsup:

Think the kindle is deliberately non glare, its like reading paper

Yep - I do that - and look at the cover to remind myself what book it is too


Me as well.

Must say that you soon forget you aren't reading a real book, reading in the bath is a bit dicey though :lost2:
Photo
west-is-best
Jan 05 2011 10:47 PM
It doesn't have a backlight so it can still be read in bright sunlight.
I was also lucky enough to get a Kindle for Xmas

it is one of the best gifts I've had
it makes reading so much more enjoyable, it seems easier to put down and pick up not going to the end of the chapter like I do with tree books

Just waiting to take it away now, it has to be the best thing for camping and caravans
:laugh:

Me as well.

Must say that you soon forget you aren't reading a real book, reading in the bath is a bit dicey though :lost2:

http://www.proporta.com/F02/PPF02P05.php?t_id=5352&t_mode=des ::D:

I wonder if it'd survive a session in a sauna. The first and last time I tried taking a paperback in there, the glue in the spine melted and the pages started dropping out.
turned my 3g on today and the screen is knackered.

not happy - but very pleased with amazon - they are sending a replacement out for delivery tuesday and I have to use the packaging it arrives in to return the busted one.

mine has had very light use so far - as I still got loads of paper and hard backs to get through so not sure how well made these things are.
Photo
west-is-best
Jan 30 2011 10:00 PM
Heidi had a problem with hers as well today. It froze. So she e-mailed Amazon who rang her back within the hour and talked her through the reset proceedure.

All fine now and frankly excellent customer service.

Heidi had a problem with hers as well today. It froze. So she e-mailed Amazon who rang her back within the hour and talked her through the reset proceedure.

All fine now and frankly excellent customer service.

I had that problem with my Kindle so on Wednesday I sent an email at 1.55 and received a telephone call at 1.57 and by 2.00 pm my replacement kindle was on the way to me to be delivered on Thursday at 12pm. Then print of a label affix it to the box and put the old Kindle inside, log in to the DHL site ( link on the page that gives the label ) and my old kindle will be collected tomorrow. Absolutely wonderful service. The Kindle aint bad either.
Got a Kindle for my birthday, all set up and downloaded my first books. Thrilled to bits with it it will be so useful when we go away to Europe for 2 and half months in April. I will not have all those books taking up weight and room in the caravan. and being wifi can download more books if I want while away.
By the way to be able to read in the dark you caneither buy a case with built in light from Amazon for £50 or go to Ebay and click on Kindle Club and you can get one very similiar with a build in LED light for just over £22. They are both Leather too. It is excellent.
i got my rapacement as promised by Amazon on Tuesday and DHL have just collected the d the faulty one.

Excellent service.

Now like the look of the forthcoming kindle dx with 9" screen... ho hum where will it end :blush:
as we get about 8 books a week from the library each week between us
-- which is FREE
-- apart from the generous government that allows us to use them with our taxes.
-- for the time being any way

-- I was wondering if the kindle electronic book could plug into the library system.

We would unfortunately need two Kindles and I think they cost about £120 each
- ~~ £240 from our pension
-- then the next up grade that will come along which we would just "have to have"
-- we would have to have the case so as not to damage it another £22 each!
-- then the new 9" screen
-- I think it is a non starter for us.
-- and possibly any other serious reading person.

We will keep on going to the library each week and enjoy looking through the thousands of books that we haven't yet managed - flicking through to see if we like them etc.
Talking to the nice library staff -- maintaining social contact etc.

Maurice
There are LOADS of free books available, And whatever you do buy can be installed on either yours or wives machine so easy to share titles, Its the sort of thing If you are anything like me you can imagine being stuck in a cupboard after a while, Couldnt be furthar from the truth, We would NEVER be without them, My wifes and i tastes very different and to help your decision The wife goes into the top bookstores Smiths waterstones Etc, Takes a pen and paper then has lists of what she wants from Amazon, The best sellers are usually a pound or two cheaper as downloads, I on the other hand just browse the kindle store in Amazon and just pick cheapies, Anything up to about three quid,and sometimes 7080 pence, The convenience of having one or two hundred books in your pocket Etc is unbelievable, And easier + more useable than a real book, I do believe some libraries do lend downloadable books ?? But as for your dilema why not just buy one to try ?? For some strange reason they dont seem to lose value and can fetch more second hand // figure that, But i promise you will like, And you wont lose a penny,I think i could guarantee that, Have look on google for free ebooks there are loads, Some have been mentioned on here but my memory is like a xxxxxxxxxxxxx
PS dont bother with big screen, Small is same as average paperback, Internet model useless for me I have laptop Etc, Cases now coming down but we bought large pencil cases from WhSmiths 2quid apiece.
Well, Maurice, I consider myself to be a serious reading person too and think the Kindle could be the answer to my prayers.
We take, between us, about 40 books or more when we go abroad for 6 weeks, meaning we have to lug around a huge bag full of them wherever we go. Do you take your library books abroad?
We all have to move with the times and I definately believe that ebooks are the future of reading.

Well, Maurice, I consider myself to be a serious reading person too and think the Kindle could be the answer to my prayers.
We take, between us, about 40 books or more when we go abroad for 6 weeks, meaning we have to lug around a huge bag full of them wherever we go. Do you take your library books abroad?
We all have to move with the times and I definately believe that ebooks are the future of reading.

We buy books throughout the year and put them in the van for holiday reading -- don't do 40 -- but must be 20. what do we do with them after -- well if they are brand new -- just read by us -- we give them to the library -- and they enter them up. others we give to the charity shops.

What happens if -- like me -- you fall asleep at 2 am reading !! at the moment the book falls on the floor -- with the electronic I suppose it will burn a hole in the blanket :laugh:

Not quite convinced just yet -- that I [we] need to spend £250+ for reading a book...

Only registered members are allowed to leave comments. Login or Register


Add your own review


  information  You need to login or register to add or your own review or comment on others

The Caravan Club

Caravan Guard insurance


Board Statistics

Total Posts:
527495
Total Topics:
44579
Total Members:
12649
Newest Member:
JamesMF1982
Online At Once:
2118
21-January 08