Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Electric Hookup Cable

35 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi everyone,

I am new to this and just got kitted out with the basics. I want to make an EHU box with cable with MCBs and RCD (It's OK, I am qualified to do it) but I am surprised at the lengths of cable on the ready made ones; 20m!

Based on your experience, how long a lead do I really need, ie how far away from the EHU will I be in my tent? Has anyone ever needed a cable 20m (over 60ft!) to reach the EHU post?

Also, how much power can be drawn? I see that 10A seems to be the lowest and some go up to 16A; should I cater for 10 to be sure, or are they rare these days, with 16A more the norm?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Posted

Can't speak for tent sites, but I have needed the 20metres on occasion .. have seen some where you needed more ..

allow for 16 Amp .. as you know 10 amp down a 16A cable is fine .. but why restrict yourself to 10 when 16 is available

Posted

Standard caravan EHU cables are 25m. Even then I've once or twice needed to join two together.

Posted

Welcome to the mad world of Camping stars.gif

Hi everyone,

I am new to this and just got kitted out with the basics. I want to make an EHU box with cable with MCBs and RCD (It's OK, I am qualified to do it) but I am surprised at the lengths of cable on the ready made ones; 20m!

Based on your experience, how long a lead do I really need, ie how far away from the EHU will I be in my tent? Has anyone ever needed a cable 20m (over 60ft!) to reach the EHU post?

Also, how much power can be drawn? I see that 10A seems to be the lowest and some go up to 16A; should I cater for 10 to be sure, or are they rare these days, with 16A more the norm?

Thanks in advance for your help

Posted

We have 2. One 25m and one 10m. Usually only use the 10m one but have been known to join them together.

Posted