Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Journey To Pompeii

7 posts in this topic

Posted

Some years ago, a member kindly provided me with information of a route I can take to Italy that isn't a "white knuckle ride" regarding hairpin bends and mountainous road. Unfortunately I have mislaid this info. We are hoping to go to Italy with the ultimate aim of visiting Pompeii. Please could someone help me with a suggested route, and if they've got any campsite suggestions. We live in Norwich, so will go via Dover etc... I'm a novice with regard to towing, but I have managed the return journey to Southern Spain from Bilbao, including towing in a convoy with lorries behind a snow plough - really hairy!!

Jackie

Posted

See you are a fellow Rexton owner...should see plenty of them in Italy.

The AA Maps site gives Calais to Napoli ( don't use Naples it dosn't recognise it!) as about 1900 miles and it seems to be mainly motorway....once you leave the motorway at Naples and been sold a million cigarettes or perfumes the roads become narrow and twisty and some are steep so 'vans not best suited!

Watch out for scooters with up to six people on...no helmets and often shopping as well............and dogs and cats within Pompeii....we had a cloudburst after 3 months of no rain when we were there and had to shelter with the artefacts!....the village was flooded and the market destroyed....but other than that it was great!

No idea of sites but leave that to others!

cheers

geoff

Posted

Pompeii is wondeful..... but be sure to go on a guided tour as the tour guides are really enthusiastic and will tell you all the stuff that is not in the tourist brochure.

Unfortunatley I have no idea on routes or sites as I visited as part of a company "jolly".

If you can get out to Capri and up Vesuvius whilst you are there all the better... there really is so much to see.

I'm quite envious thinking about it!

G

Posted